Navigation:  Using Responsive Time Logger (topic list) >

    Archiving Old Time Records, etc.

Top  Previous  Next

Archiving Old Time Records

We recommend that you keep all time records in a single database.  However, if you have so many time records that performance suffers, or you're just sure that you'll rarely need some of the older time records, you can archive these older time records to an archive file.

Just choose File/Archive Records and Time Logger will let you choose a cutoff date for the records you want to keep.

All records that start before that date (exclusive) will be transferred to a new time records file that you name and create, and then deleted from the current database.

Note that if you want to see the old archived time records at a later date, you can open the archive time records database file from within Time Logger using: File->Open...

More:

Archive Records Window

 

Archiving Old Invoice Files

We suggest that you put a subfolder named something like "Invoices Before YYYY-MM-DD" inside either your C:\Program Files\Timelog folder (or wherever you are storing your invoices - see: Global Options Window/Folders Tab) and then move the appropriate invoice files into that folder.

TIP: Inside Windows Explorer, you can select to view the the Details for all files and then sort by the Date Modified or Date Created.  Then you can select the invoices you want and drag them into the new folder, either one-by-one or as a group.

More:

Global Options Window/Folders Tab

 

Backup and Remove Old Clients

These steps will back up your Client Information and then you can delete the old clients.  Keep in mind that the client names are stored in four places in Time Logger:

 

A.In the list of Clients and their addresses,etc. (under Edit->Edit Client Information...).
B.In the list of Client Names for the Descriptors (the Client list you choose when adding and editing time records or using the stopwatch).
C.On each historical time record, where that client name was selected for that time record.
D.On each invoice or payment record for that client.

 

Deleting from each of the above is described below.

 

NOTE: Deleting or changing the Client Name in any one of the places above does not automatically change it in the others.  Nor are you required to remove the old Client name from all of the places.  In other words, it is optional for you to delete old client names from every place in Time Logger.  For example, you probably do not want to remove old time records associated with the old client you are deleting in order to maintain your actual time record history.

 

A) Steps to Backup and Remove Old Client Address Information

1.Backup your Client Information by doing this...
3.Click the Export button
4.Save this file into the desired folder with an appropriate name such as "Client Backup on YYYY-MM-DD"
5.On the Edit Client Information window, select and click the Delete button for each client you wish to have removed and confirm with Yes.

 

B) Steps to Backup and Remove Old Client Names from the Descriptors list of Clients

1.Backup your Descriptors by doing this...
3.Click the Export button
4.Save this file into the desired folder with an appropriate name such as "Descriptors Backup on YYYY-MM-DD"
5.On the Edit Descriptors window, select each client you wish to delete and click the Delete button and confirm with Yes.

NOTE: If you use Descriptor Linking and have anything linked to the client name you are about delete, you should read Descriptors - Working with and understand how to properly delete linked descriptors.

 

C) Steps to Backup and Remove Old Time Records for an Old Client Name

1.Backup your Time Records by doing this...
3.Set a Filter for Client = My Old Client Name
4.Select: File->Export->Using Time Logger Standard Format... and save the time records to a file with an appropriate name such as "Time Records for My Old Client Name Backup on YYYY-MM-DD"
5.Select and delete all of the files that match this current filter.

 

D) Steps to Backup and Remove Old Invoice and Payments from the Accounts Receivable

6.Backup your Accounts Receivable by doing this...
8.Click the Export button
9.Save this file into the desired folder with an appropriate name such as "Invoices and Payments Backup on YYYY-MM-DD"
10.On the Accounts Receivable window in the Client: field, select the old client you wish to delete
11.Select all of the Invoices and Payments and click the Delete button.

 

More:

Archive Records Window

Global Options Window/Folders Tab

Descriptors - Working with

Backing up Your Data